• A
  • A
  • A
  • ABC
  • ABC
  • ABC
  • А
  • А
  • А
  • А
  • А
Regular version of the site
visionusersearch
National Research University Higher School of EconomicsIQIQ.hse.ru: What to Expect in 2017 – A Research Forecast


A Research Forecast

What to Expect in 2017


On the eve of New Year’s, it is customary to take a look into the near future. We asked HSE experts in various fields to share their forecasts on which areas of research might be the most interesting and promising in 2017. They tell us about what discoveries and breakthroughs await us in 2017, as well as how this could even change our lives.

Machine Learning and Artificial Intelligence

Artificial intelligence will, without question, be developed over the next 5-10 years. In the coming year, significant progress is expected to take place in solving three key tasks that will help achieve this feat.

More...

Mathematics

In the field of mathematics, forecasts are made not for the upcoming year, but for centuries ahead. However, today, the opposite process is taking place in it. And this may result in a crisis for mathematics over the long-term. At the same time, other trends might reinforce the field thanks to the growing number of links between different areas of mathematics.

More...

Urban Studies

Urban governance will be based on big data rather than on any purely administrative rationale, and just building homes will not be enough to ensure people feel comfortable. This change is already underway in capitals and other large cities, and other cities and towns will follow.

More...

Linguistics

The concept of thought-reading is longer science fiction; computer translation is improving; and linguists are no longer ashamed to ask ‘why people talk the way they do on the Internet’.

More...

Bioinformatics

Studies of ancient DNA have changed our view of the history of humanity. As such, advanced analysis of separate cells’ genomes will help generate breakthroughs in our understanding of early embryonic human development over the several next years. At the same time, in terms of research of bacterial communities, we still don’t know how to pose the correct questions.

More...

Philosophy

The debate about the concepts of ethics no longer applies solely to an individual’s moral principles and self-knowledge. Ethics has become an engineering problem. The question then arises, what principles should we build in to autonomous machines that operate and make decisions in the real world?

More...

Neurolinguistics

In 2017, we expect neurolinguisitcs to continue developing such applications as standardized tests for speech deficiencies. Furthermore, there should be further joint work among neurolinguists and surgeons, as well as new emerging neurolinguistics-oriented therapeutic studies with the application of various neurovisualizational methods.

More...

Design

The most important thing we must keep in mind when talking about future innovation is that there is no one single scenario or outcome. For instance, we may have forgotten or missed something, and this might appear as a surprise. Then, as follows, a new trend or area of studies will emerge. There also is a particular Russian specialty: some trends already exist, but it’s nevertheless impossible to understand their actual scale.

More...

Decision-making in Social Systems

Game theory, decision theory, network analysis, experimental economics — these are the areas that will develop rapidly in the coming years, bringing together scholars from different research fields.

More...

• A
  • A
  • A
  • АБВ
  • АБВ
  • АБВ
  • А
  • А
  • А
  • А
  • А
Обычная версия сайта


Научный прогноз

Что ждет нас в 2017 году


В канун Нового года особенно хочется заглянуть в будущее. Мы попросили ученых ВШЭ, представляющих разные области знаний, поделиться своими прогнозами о том, какие направления исследований будут особенно перспективны в 2017 году, где можно ожидать открытий и прорывов и как все это изменит нашу жизнь.

Машинное обучение и искусственный интеллект

Искусственный интеллект, без сомнений, будет разработан уже через 5-10 лет. А в наступающем году ожидается существенный прогресс в решении трех задач, которые помогут приблизиться к этому.

Подробнее...

Математика

В математике прогнозы делаются не на год, а на столетия вперед. И они таковы: универсальных математиков становится меньше, и это может привести эту науку к кризису. Но есть и противоположный процесс: математика укрепляется за счет увеличивающегося числа связей между разными ее областями.

Подробнее...

Урбанистика

Управление городами будет строиться на основе больших данных, а не на командно-административной логике, а одного только строительства жилья будет недостаточно, чтобы люди чувствовали себя комфортно. В столичных и других крупных городах эти процессы уже начались, на очереди — остальные.

Подробнее...

Лингвистика

Чтение мыслей перестает быть научной фантастикой, компьютерный перевод совершенствуется, а лингвисты больше не стесняются задавать вопрос «почему в интернете люди говорят именно так».

Подробнее...

Биоинформатика

Исследование древней ДНК меняют наши представления об истории человечества, более совершенный анализ геномов отдельных клеток приведет к тому, что в представлениях о раннем эмбриональном развитии человека в ближайшие годы обязательно пройдет прорыв, а вот в области исследования бактериальных сообществ мы до них пор не умеем ставить правильные вопросы.

Подробнее...

Философия

Спор о концепциях в этике больше не касается только моральных принципов и самопознания человека. Этика стала инженерной задачей. Возникает вопрос, какие принципы мы должны закладывать в автономные машины, действующие и принимающие решения в реальном мире.

Подробнее...

Нейролингвистика

В 2017 году нас ждет дальнейшее прикладное развитие нейролингвистики: стандартизированные тесты, определяющие речевые дефициты, совместная работа нейролингвистов и хирургов, появление новых нейролингвистически ориентированных терапевтических исследований с использованием различных нейровизуализационных методов.

Подробнее...

Дизайн

Самое важное, что нужно понимать, когда мы говорим о каких-то инновационных вещах, связанных с будущим, — это то, что единого сценария будущего не существует. Возможно, мы что-то забыли и чего-то не заметили, а оно вдруг напомнит о себе. Тогда появится новый тренд или направление. Есть еще особенная для России вещь — некоторые тренды уже существуют, но пока совершенно невозможно понять их масштабы.

Подробнее...

Принятие решений в социальных системах

Теории игр, теория принятия решений, сетевой анализ, экспериментальная экономика — области, которые продолжат интенсивно развиваться в последующие годы, объединяя усилия ученых из самых разных дисциплинарных областей.

Подробнее...